Exercise: Abstract Illustration

I started with Gershwin’s Cuban Overture…

A4 2_Page_34

Which I though looked quite a mess. But I saw something interesting on the right hand side so I made a new one using that idea (while still listening and being driven by the music)…

A4 2_Page_35

I’m not sure I can see the music in either of these… but as it’s the first time I’ve done it maybe I need to get into it a bit.

I’m finding out here that although in the moment I might be driven to choose to draw specific marks, music happens over time and the moment is not the music, so the mark made in the moment is not the music. Perhaps drawing in silence is better – having just listed to the piece, so that I can draw on my memory of any part of it in order to add each mark.

 

 

Leave a Reply

